A General Sourcebook

I’m new to Ars Magica and after getting the core rules (which I love) I was disappointed to see that there was no general worldbook for the setting. I do see that the game lends itself to in-depth sourcebooks but I still think something general would be nice to have. Offhand I’m thinking of that it could devote a few pages to each House, Tribunal, and Realm and perhaps include some of the over-arching politics of the Order of Hermes. A book that is one half an almanac for Mythic Europe and one half general sourcebook with a few game elements (virtues, flaws, critters, characters, etc.).

I imagine a book like this would have a difficult time finding a target audience which is probably why it doesn’t exist. Trying to include lots of new information for long time players would likely leave the book feeling artificial – why does the ‘general’ book have details the ‘detailed’ books lack? On the other hand directing this primarily at new players probably isn’t economical even if most passages are lifted from previous works – a process which probably doesn’t cut the workload down all that much.

Still I thought I’d bring this up if only to see what people think and to an extent it seems to fit in with the ArM6/5rev discussions going on :slight_smile:

There was a book for 3rd edition called "Mythic Europe" that I found quite useful back in the day.

That's one half of the reason. The other reason comes from the other side: once the "general" book exists, you either have to assume that everyone has it, or duplicate material in the "detailed" books.