A model for the design of supplements and magazine articles

I'm a player who prefers:

• Adrenaline
  • Intellect
  • Emotion
  • Landscape
  • None of the above, because this framework is not a good one

0 voters

In my real life as a librarian, I was off doing reader advisory training today and struck and interesting idea when dealing with appeal factors. Appeal factors are the things which make a book appeal to readers, and I thought "This new model of appeal factors works so much better for Ars than the older models of genre and pacing". I'm just throwing in this poll to see if I'm right.

The theory is that books have four appeal factors, and that genres are just methods of offering this appeal. The appeal factors are:

• Adrenaline: this is appealing because it is a thriller, actiony thing that immerses you in physical action and violence.
  • Intellect: this is appealing because it challenges you on a contive level, as you puzzle it out.
  • Emotional: this is appealing because it touches your heartstrings, and makes you feel happy or sad or angry or what have you.
  • Landscape: this is appealing because the setting appeals to you.

I was thingking about City and Guild and how some people like it, and many don't. Is it because it is Landscape based, rather than Adrenaline? Is this a useless model? Is it something worth thinking about in terms of line balance?

Hmm, I mostly read books on a landscape basis though I'm not immune to the others.

As for City and Guild, I think its just sufficiently divorced from normal play that its hard for many folks to find much use for it. In a way, its the 5e version of Ordo Nobilis which got a lot of criticism as being almost an entire subgame.