A simple die question.

I'm new to Ars Magica and working my way through the 5th Edition rulebook. I have a pretty basic question.
Although it is reasonably clear when you use a Stress die, there don't seem to be any guidelines, that I have discovered so far, on when you use a Simple die instead of a Stress die :question:

Can someone point me in the direction of where I can find such guidelines :question:

Cheers, Banjo

A simple die is used when something is not done in a stressful situation and is not itself a stressful thing to do. So, for example, if you're trying to forage while you're in no rush and can just go back to town, that would involve a simple die. However, being in a serene setting won't help you when performing any of the Goetic Arts because they are themselves always inherently stressful.

Does that help?

Chris

Well sort of, if it didn't say under stress die, that if there is no chance of a botch a 0 is just a 0.

In the forage situation you described, you could easily just do away with any die roll at all.

I really have difficulty understanding the difference and the point of the "Simple Die", it just seems to add an extra difficulty for little game benefit :wink:

Banjo

Simple die means there is no risk nor chance for epic fail or success (cant botch but also cannot get a dieroll multiplier as with stressroll).

Yes, I know what a simple die is, there just seem to be no guidelines on when to use it, or any real point in using it, as far as I can see :wink:

As far as I can see on page 6 of the rules it defines what a simple die is, but does not explain anywhere when it is used :question:

Can you point me to elsewhere in the rules where use of a Simple dice is explained :question:

Actually, if you roll a 1 on your stress die, and roll again, the next die rolled is, by the definition on page 6, a Simple die. Rolling a 1 again on that die allows you to multiply the end result and roll another Simple die, and so one.....

Banjo