Bad players, Bad Storytellers?

I'm just curious, what have people's bad experiences with Ars Magica been like, whether it was a player or the story teller?

I've had some most of my bad experiences in non Ars Magica games, but I have had some. I recall an adventure my brother ran, that lasted half an hour because he had no idea what to do with the story after a certain point.

Another one was an incoherent adventure written by a friend of his. No idea how the rules worked or basic GMing skills. It was not his first time either.

My bad experiences have always been personality clashes, either player-storyguide or player-player. It's never been the game, although we've certainly argued about rules interpretations. I've always chalked it up to typical interpersonal communication conflicts, regular human to human interactions, and nothing especially inherent in rpgs. I'm lucky in that I don't take it very seriously, and have been able to remain friends with people that I had a difficult experience role-playing with.

Matt Ryan

p.s. I'm wearing my Grand Tribunal 2008 t-shirt today!

1 Like

Ah, the old GTUK2K8 t-shirt. I have to say, mine's a little... snug, but I might just give it an airing at tomorrow's session.

Left my Berkeley GT 2008 shirt at home. I am wearing my prison t-shirt :laughing:

anyway, as for the topic.
My worst group was also my very best group. It took a while to drag them from D&D and Warcraft into Ars. Even then, getting them to accept medieval science and philosophy was a chore. After that, mor little conflicts as for style and flavor. Old gamers are cranky curmudgeons who are set in their ways.

But, challenges come with rewards. These guys would help the story along a lot. I would explain what I am headed for, have occ table-talk discussions about the course of the game, and managed to form everything into a collaborative effort that we all shared pride in.

In other words, we made it work.

1 Like