Changing in to animals rules query

Looking for a little clarification about which qualities a mage keeps when turning in to an animal form. If my mage becomes a bear do I retain all my mage's abilities and gain the bear's abilities, or do I only have the bear's abilities? I know spell casting is at a vast disadvantage without the right merits but do I gain say, the bear's stamina and my mage's stamina. Lastly, does the bear's soak seem a little high to anyone? With Parma and the bear's soak of (I think) 15 or so a mage is near tank like. I am fairly new to the system so I am sure I have just managed to miss this section in the rules book. Any help is much appreciated.

Houses of Hermes: Mystery Cults has the full rundown on page 23.

Regarding "physical" abilities, you only have the bear's (you'd use the bear's brawl, not yours). You still have access to your academic/arcane/supernatural abilities, except for those you obviously cannot use.

If the stats are of the same sign (both positive or both negative) you use the most extreme, if they are of opposite signs, you add them together: e.g. +6 and +2 -> +6, +6 and -2 -> +4. The size is that of the target animal regardless of the character's size. The character's Virtues and Flaws are kept and you add the animal's to them (unless they duplicate, of course, e.g. a Tough character turning into a Tough bear gets only one Tough Virtue bonus).

It has a +9 Soak in HoH:MC ... remember that the animals of Mythic Europe aren't biologically identical to our real animals; instead, the stats depend on how the animal is perceived (by the SG :slight_smile:).

Parma doesn't add to Soak. You get your Form Bonus, but to go from +9 to +15, you'd need a Form score of 30. And that'd only protect you from one kind of attack. Anyway, yes, it's a tank (remember the +2 Size, too), bears are scary. But a trained group (core book, page 172) will still mow it down.