cooking with magic... clarification

Okay, squick question from someone with very limited ars experience...

situation is.. magus has piece of meat ( I think Lamb), anyway, magus wants to cook said meat using magic.. now question.. would appropriate technique be creo and thus used to "improve" the raw meat to cooked.. or rego as is done for craft skills? Any clarification would be appreciated.. its probably pretty obvious for most folks.. but I've had limited experience. especially lately

I think it would be Rego Animal, as per the rules in Rego Craft Magic (see "Covenfolk Spells"). It would be Base 3,
"Treat and process items made of animal products", with possibly a Creo Herbam requisite (and +1 magnitude) if you want it spiced (or a low level Muto Imagonem spell after that to make it taste as you want). And a Precision roll not to spoil the meat :stuck_out_tongue:.

So the final level would be: 3 + 1 Touch for a spell of level 4. And then a precision roll of 6+ to make it edible, or 9+ to make it acceptable. Of course the "change" would be permanent (duration momentary). Sorry if i havenĀ“t enough time to make it flavorful :stuck_out_tongue:.

Hope it helps!

Marciano got it right :slight_smile: THe imaginem spell to follow (as he suggested would be base 2 (change smell and taste), +1 touch +2 sun for a level 5 spell. Or you can do it with 2 level 4 spells (one to affect taste, another to affect smell).

Other ways to "skin the cat" would be creo ignem to actually roast it or Creo Aquam to boil it (ignem requisite for hot water).

Cheers,
Xavi