Core Questions

Heya,

I am still fairly new to 5th edition (used to play 3rd a lot) so forgive me if these questions are repeats, but I couldn't find answers in the FAQ or in the errata.

First (and I actually had this answered before on the old forum, but it never made it to the errata), on page 98, upper left, the example of the enchanted item is wrong. A small wooden object take 4 pawns, not 2. The incorrect example confused the hell out of me for a while there.

Second, nowhere in the book does it say that wound penalties don't apply to Soak totals, except in the combat example on page 172 where it says "does not apply to Soak because Soak is not rolled", but under Wound penalties on 178 it says it applies to all "rolls and totals". Is it to be inferred from the word 'actions' that Soak isn't affected? This is confusing, but my gut tells me that Soak is not affected, it just really isn't clear. A nice "Soak totals are not affected by Wound penalties." clause on 178 would be great - much like it says under Fatigue.

Finally (for now), if I have a character with one Light and one Heavy wound (-6 to all actions) and on my next action I attack with an Attack Total of 10 + stress die result of 3, is my total 7? [10 + 3 - 6 = 7] Or do the penalties just reduce the roll to 0 and not negatives, for a result of 10? I couldn't find an example anywhere in the book that dealt with negative roll results.

Thanks for any insights.

Chris

(edited for spelling)

Looks like you're looking for rule answers rather than "this is what I do" answers.

The wound penalty isn't specifically attached to the die roll so the result of the roll in your least question should be 6 rather than 10.

I can't give you solid rules answers on the second question (I don't play with damage penalties to soak but I don't have anything to back that up with apart from what you've already found).