Hedge Initiation and Flaw/Virtue Allowance?

Maybe I glanced over a small paragraph explaining this, but I'm trying to develop Hedge magician grogs and can't find any rules pertaining to whether or not the Initiations allow a grog/companion to sort of buy his way out of the normal Virtue/Flaw limits. Do Hedge initiations pre-character generation count against Virtue/Flaw limit and allow one to exceed the usual limits, or no? Thanks in advance for any help, and sorry if this is defined somewhere that I glanced over!

Pre-play count normally towards V&F limits. During play they don't. In play development does not fit the V&F limits. However, a grog that develops so much would be considered a companion IMS.