Help for a complete newbie

Greetings all!

First, lest I be misunderstood, let me say a couple of things: 1) I've never played Ars Magica. I am unfortunate not to have a group of interested players nearby. 2) I have 4th ed, which I did read, and have just ordered the 5th ed rulebook, plus Ancient Magic and the Rhine tribunal books. Looking forward to getting those. 3) Though I've never played it, I get the feeling that this is the game for me, as I've always wanted to play a magus, ever since reading A Wizard of Earthsea, almost 30 years ago...4) I really, really don't want to upset anyone, or start a flame war or insult everyone's favorite game here, but...

The thing is, having read 4th ed, and browsed a couple of PbP threads... this game seems to be all talk and no action...

Granted, I think that doing research and such is great fun and character development, but... is that all there is to it? Just building a powerful covenant and researching to increase your power? To what end? Why be more powerful if you don't actually do anything?

Not that talk is a bad thing, but... I remember the game with the vampires and werewolves and what not published by that other company that did 4th ed, and it seemed to me to be just endless talking and posturing of players, boasting of their prowess and their lineages, while nobody actually DID anything with said powers...

Let me point out that I am not looking for an alternate version of DnD. I understand and desire a different style of playing. I don't want or pretend this game to be pointless, mindless hack and slash.

It's just that I can't seem to understand the focus or direction of the game.

So please, disabuse me of the notion. Explain to me what you think the game is about. Show me the error of my ways. Please. I want you to. As I said, I reallly, really want to like and play this game.

Are there examples of play which are dynamic? Please point my way to them....