Help with a faerie character ( or any non-magus character in place of a magus)

Basically, i'm pretty new to the game ( and the community in general, so sorry if i post this somewhere wrong or if im asking something too simple).
I am planning to start a saga with some friends of mine ( none of which have played ars magica before) and one of them wanted to play a faerie instead of a magus, and since i have read some of the books ( including the faerie realms book) I wanted to let him play a faerie instead of a magus.
The problem here is that i have no idea what he would do instead of laboratory work ( while other people are doing laboratory work),so my question is, is there something faerie characters can do instead of laboratory work that is at least a bit similar? Thanks in advance!

(1) Get your player's Faerie the Virtues Highly Cognizant and Pretentious (RoP:F p.52 and p.64).

(2) Have that Faerie make it(?)self useful and provide momentous personal experiences (RoP:F p.63) to other PCs and NPCs at the covenant, thereby harvesting vitality, increasing Pretenses and changing their glamour.

Thus the Faerie can develop and become the single most entertaining and/or obnoxious member of the covenant.

2 Likes

Yes that is helpful, thanks. But do you think the player would be without much to do while others do Laboratory work? Should I just assign labwork as if it were homework to my friends and let him not do it, or is there something I could ask him to do while other people think about the spells they want to create and stuff like that? I guess my question is more about how can i entertain the player and less about how the Character can grow, Thanks for the advice anyway.

Wouldn't that depend on his role in the covenant? From Autocrat over Châtelaine and Master of the Hunt to Toll Collector from under the bridge everything is possible for Faeries - but not for every Faerie.