I don't know if it explicitly says so, but there are explicit examples. For example, any Criamon path taken to its end.
grin I was waiting for this one. Indeed I can't, unless there is a magus writeup somewhere that has it. If not, a strict RAW reading would indeed preclude this.
For myself, I see no good reason why a magus should not start out with two majors, and I'd happily allow it during and after character creation. RAW, however, unless there's a counterexample, this restriction technically remains in place.
Ok, so you're saying that using CrCo to increase a stat up to +1 stacks if you're doing it as a ritual, but not if you're doing it with a duration? Me, I'm saying that the guideline explicitly sets a limit, and it's not 'beyond the original characteristic,' so that other than the spell duration and possible warping for long-term effects, the spells do exactly the same thing.
You're making an assumption too. My assumption is that the virtue does what it says, adding 3 to Soak. So if I have it twice, I follow the rule twice, so x+3+3 = x+6. That math looks straightforward to me. Soak = Tough(Tough(Soak)). You're saying that I can have the virtue twice, but then assume that the Soak referred to in the virtue is always the original Soak, even though the virtue says no such thing.
Fortunately, ruling that one cannot take the same virtue twice does a great job preventing conversations like this at the table.
Here, it's something to do during lockdown.
Oh, then don't do that! I can also enchant an item four times to kill me four different ways when I touch it. How do I die? Or if I enchant the item twice to turn me into a wolf and into a bear when I touch it. Do I become a wolf or a bear? Or if I enchant it to teleport me to both Madrid and Cairo? Or...