Newbies and a New Food Thread

Hi. I'm a newbie, and our group has been coming up with new ways to support themselves. We've agreed to the magical-food-isn't-nutritious thing, but what about making cheap food APPEAR to be gourmet food? Not actually turning it unto. Basically, they've decided to buy flour and become cut-rate spice merchants.

Thoughts? I haven't decided whether or not to allow it, since I'd imagine this is going to skew the game settings local economy and someone will come knocking on their door... Some official investigating smuggling perhaps... But anyway, what are your thoughts?

Welcome to the boards and the game, AG!

I think you should go with your gut, but IC, not as an OOC StoryGuide mandate.

First point out that, IC/IG, this is just a spin off of the "Let's make gold/silver and get rich" scheme. Which, their magi should all IC know is HEAVILY FROWNED UPON by the Order, specifically because (as you point out) it could indeed mess with the economy, and also give magi in general a bad name. (Something about "interfering in the affairs of mundanes" and "bringing ruin to my sodales". Victims get on the scheme when the Duration wears off, magic is suspect, legit spice merchants lose bussiness and complain to the local bishop, witch hunts start, innocents die... and who's fault is this, again? )

Also, spice merchants are both uncommon, and also as territorial as they are jealous of their profits - the magi may well discover themselves (or their mundane face, at least) on the receiving end of a trade war, and ~that~ will be the crucible that divides the subtle and wise from the short-sighted and greedy. :wink:

Now, not every mage, nor every covenant makes it their life's work to be a poster child for the Hermetic Oath - "everyone" cheats a little. And many (most?) get away with it - some. The more you bend the rules, the less you cover yourself, less likely to get away with it. So, the (immortal) question is... do they feel lucky?