Questions on a custom spell (MuMe, req Vi)

Hello there,

This is my first post, so I think I should briefly introduce myself. :wink: I started playing Ars Magica years ago with the third edition. Like many players, I have fallen in love with this game. Unfortunately, life duties kept me away from role playing games for a few years until I found myself leafing through an ArM5 manual in a local seller just a few months ago. Right now, I'm starting a new saga with my fellows and we're having very much fun building our covenant and characters.

Now, the subject of my post is a custom spell about which the base guidelines are of little help.

Here it is :

Realisation Of The Magical Thought

Muto Mentem
Req : Vim
Range : personnal
Duration : Momentary
Target : part

This spell transforms a thought into a brief and weak magical effect. When casting this spell, the magus concentrates on the thought he wishes to transform. The player determines the effect, with the following limitations :

• A thought is something fugitive by nature : it cannot be transformed into an effect with duration more than diameter.
  • A magical thought cannot affect a target higher than group or piece
  • A magical thought may not be very complex : the effect may not be of magnitude higher than 25
    The caster must make an intelligence + finesse roll with an ease factor equal to the level of the effect in which the thought is to be turned. If he fails, the produced effect is not what he expected. The more the difference with the ease factor, the more different the effect produced will be. This spell is a very complex one. For this reason, add two botch dice to its casting.

Well, here are the questions :

• Is this spell in the boundaries of hermetic magic ? if no, why ? It seems to me that nothing in the hermetic limits shall forbid this effect, but I am not an expert and would like to hear other perspectives on the subject.