[Spell Check] Snap of Immodesty

Snap of Immodesty ReAn(He)5
Voice/Mom/Ind
Unlaces, unwinds, and removes the stitching from garments, with a snap of the fingers. While this spell was created for use in the bedroom, it can also cause an embarrassing public disrobing, as well as effectively removing most armors (leather straps are used to secure all but Chain).
Base 1 (Manipulate items made of animal products) +2 Voice +1 He req. +1 complexity

I put in the Herbam requisite to include linen.

This spell seems a bit overpowered for such a low level - any thoughts?

:slight_smile:, V

I think the spell works 100% correct... and that it might not do what you say.

I am no expert in medieval costiumes at all, but I would be surprised if they are not designed along the same ways as modern clothing. That means that a pair of trousers might fall, but the tunics that are used the most as the main dressing element will remain in place (untied but in place). As such, no massive nakedness around you. The same might be the case fotr armor, even if an untied armor will be a less effective and (specially) will increase Load a tendfold due to the inconvenience.

In Magi of Hermes (page 56), Julia has the spell The Unraveled Clothes that has the effect you describe. It's written as a PeAn(He) level 15 spell, starting from a base 2 guideline. It uses the Group target and has a +1 for the requisite (both of which make sense to me for your spell as well).