Spirit familiar ideas

I'm new at Ars Magica (first campaign) and i'm not a native english speaker so if anything is not clear just let me know.

I'm looking for ideas for a spirit companion that is not a ghost and fits with my favorite arts : MuIm.

I thought of some Daimon for a while but they are too restrictive for a familiar IMHO.

Any other ideas, i'm open minded anything that is or can be incorporeal would fit.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the game.

And what an interesting idea to start with. I like that you already know that you don't want a ghost or a Daimon.

I think the best fit looks to be one of the Spirts of Sensation, Realms of Power, Magic, page 105. If your character is musical, perhaps the spirit of a given song, or the sound of a lyre. It may even be the spirit of an incantation, perhaps the words used to draw upon your favourite spell. Or the sound of distant thunder (perhaps an enemy to the sound of thunder overhead...).

I hope that's enough to get you started.

Thanks for your reply ! I'm new to the game but not to RPG in general so i guess it helps for "original" ideas.

As the RoP books are not allowed for reading by the players, i'm gonna ask my game master to have a look. thanks it sounds promising.

Any other ideas are still welcome.

Two habbits you need to break in order to have a successful Ars Magica experience
In My Humble Opinion that is.
First, you need to break away from the concept of a GM. He is now an SG, or rather an ASG (storyguide/alpha-storyguide). This position is not the gaming god of other systems. Rather, he is just one of many players, a first amongst equals. He should have his own character in the game (a PC, not an NPC), and other players should take turns running adventures (beta storyguides).