The Covenant Book....

Got it recently, read it superfically.
Looks like Money well spent.

But I consider the morale and money Rules purley optional. I am trying to have fun gaming not keeping books.(I do that for a living).

So what are your thoughts on it ?

Books like Covenants are just superb for giving more and more options to a troupe. That's what you pay your money for and that, in this case, is exactly what we've got.

Personally, I'm quite excited about all the rules in the book. I'm looking forward to trying them out (people have worked hard on them and I've spent my money...) but I can't say for certain that they'll be maintained all the way through.

They do support the themes that will be common to many sagas, that is, the need to build and rebuild. In our game we've had magi invest time in viniculture, paying attention to the pigs in the woods and even listening to the grogs' suggestions to start a brothel (not sure whether that would be Lesser, Typical or Greater income in Verona). This book lets me know how I can best reward those kinds of activities.

As for morale, the same thing applies in my view. If we have a magus who goes out of his way to do "uncomfortable" things to grogs, I can respond in a measured way because these guys have already given me a framework.

Like I say, I'll look at trying everything in this new book. Certainly one of the "required" texts in my view.

I agree that they're all optional, but I think that there are advantages to playing with them; whether those advantages outweigh the cost in record-keeping would vary from person to person.

The main advantage, it seems to me, is a real drop-off in arbitrariness. With a solid way to keep track of loyalty and finances, the GM can use those features of the covenant as story hooks, and the magi will have brought it (whatever it is) on themselves. No one will get the sense that the story is coming out of nowhere.