Using Invested Devices in play

I'm fairly new to AM, and none of my players have yet to create an invested device... but one is about to.

I combed through the rules last night, and just am not sure on the following:

When you actually USE a device, do you roll a die? (then add the result to the level of the device's effect to generate a casting total?)

I'm trying to determine what happens when you use a magical device in an infernal aura....

Thanks,
eric

you do not roll a die.

The realm interaction chart on page 183 says that the aura effects penetration however the discussion of this only refers to penetration of mystical creatures. I believe that tth lack of mention concerning enchanted devices is an oversight and auras should apply to the penetration of enchanted devices as well as mystical creature powers.

Agreed!

But I also tend to describe it in non-rule terms as a flavour. The sword enchanted to be lighter feels heavier inside the church etc.

We had a discussion abou this the other day and came to a conclusion...

Magical devices: take the penalty for regios as a spell would. If the lab total falls below the Level...the device does not function...

We also came to another conclusion along that reasoning...Magical device CAN funstion inside an Aegis..but take the hit the same way as a spell.

Of course, if the item has a high enough penetration, it would function correctly, but at a lesser penetration.

This is kinda what I was thinking. It strikes me as a lot of bookkeeping, but makes sense given the basic aura interaction rules.

Eric

I don't think that this is correct.

I agree with Erik that the aura should affect the penetration of a device --- so in a penalizing aura the device needs more penetration to affect targets with Magic Resistance. Of course the target's magic resistance might be penalized by the aura too.