Warding against Terram

The ReTe guidelines include:

Level 2 - Keep dirt away from you under your conscious control.

If this spell is cast as Touch on another target, is this the conscious control of the caster or of the target?

Does this count as the caster manipulating the active effects of a spell (page 111, second paragraph of Range section)? So would the caster have to remain touching the target he cast on to ward dirt from their person?

The control is always the casters. And this is not an active effect - unless you make the duration concentration - in which case concentration would be needed but not continued touch. Caster manipulation is only needed if you are changing the 'effect' of the spell (eg. flying with a ReCo spell)