Being a noob, can you please critique some spells


I've only played a few times. I believe I have a handle on the basics, but it's the details that kill me. If you feel so inclined, can you tell me if these spells would be ok as is, or do they need some tweaking?

Wooden Elephant Springs from Hiding
MuHe 20

R: T, D: Sun, T: I

Makes a wooden figurine grow up to 16 times its previous size (i.e. mass & volume)

(Base 4, +1 touch, +2 sun, +1 size (2X orig. specs source: MeTe))

MuTe: Level 4 - AM5 p.154
MuAn: Level 4 - AM5 p.118
MuCo: Level 3 - AM5 p.132[/size]

Freedom to Let the Mind Wander
(was Maintaining the Demanding Spell)
ReVi 20

R: T, D: Sun, T: Ind.
(was Maintaining the Demanding Spell see AM5 p. 162). This spell only works on equal or lower level spells.

(Base effect 5, +1 touch, +2 sun)

Unseen Archers
ReHe(Te, An) 20

R: T D: Mom., T: G
The caster notches their arrows and draws back on a nonexistent bow. They magically fire a grouping of arrows which fly through the air as if shot from a real bow. This requires an Aiming roll to hit and strikes for +6 damage (rage increment of 15 paces). If firing at multiple, but closely grouped targets and the magus is firing 2 arrows they must make a successful Dex. + Finesse roll vs. an ease factor of 9; 3 arrows vs. EF 12; 4 arrows vs. EF 15, etc.

(base 5 + 1 touch, + 2 group )
Idea stolen from Wiki (was The Unseen Archer)

Seems like you have the hang of it. The first one, I'd need to check my book. The second seems straight forward. The third is mine! :stuck_out_tongue: LOL
I invented Unseen Archer, and yes, you are right on the money. Add two magnitides allows you to fire a volly of arrows at a target/area, and since they are "shot" with Rego and not carried all the way there, you need an aiming roll but do not need to worry about Magic Resistance.

The sustaining effect should be 'sustains effects of a level equal to or less than the level of this effect -5.'

Sustain the demanding spell, at a diameter duration and touch range, is basically the bare minimum of a sustaining effect with Rego Vim and it can effect things of up to it's own level. Upping it to day duration loses one magnitude, or five levels from that.

Really? Where can I find this in the book(s)? ([size=75]not arguing, low reading retention, may have skimmed right past it)[/size]

The level / design guidelines for spells start on page 111.

The description of the duration levels / categories is right after that on 112.

All effects start off, unless noted otherwise according a particular tech/form combination's guidelines, at ' Personal / Momentary / Individual'.

In the Rego Vim guidelines, on page 161, is the description of the guideline which governs sustaining effects and what it's base level is... which I don't feel at liberty to repeat here, but ... let's review the math as it were.

Sustain the demanding spell, as a baseline, is range touch ( the minimum needed to affect your own spells ), diameter duration, and individual ( the spell ) target. It affects things of a level equal to or less than it's own.

You are taking that baseline spell and upping the duration one step, which at this point is worth five levels of spell... meaning the spell needs to be five levels higher to sustain an effect of the same level. Hopefully that makes sense?

If it doesn't, just ask more questions and I'll blabber on until it does. Hopefully. :wink:

Meaning that if I want to sustain a lvl.20 spell, I need to ReVi at lvl.25?

Exactly. Every level of duration you go up beyond that, is another five levels.

For example I have a character who uses that type of spell at level 30 to sustain spells of level 20 or below for moon duration.

Ok, that makes sense. Thanks.


Assuming that the spell is formulaic then, other than the Virtue FFM or sponting the only way I could cast this at a higher level would be to spend the seasons to learn it, no?

Yeah. As soon as you change something, it is a different spell and must be learned separately. That's especially true for General spells. Here, however, you would benefit from a bonus to your lab total because you already know a similar spell. That bonus is equal to the already-known spell's magnitude.