Casting formulaic in melee combat

Hi everyone

I’m still really new to Ars magica, having come from more traditional systems. I’m trying to get my head round casting in combat.

If we have a mage facing off directly against a swordsman, they can both perform an action. The mage wants to cast their formulaic spell, the swordsman wants to attack.

In my head, in those 6 seconds the swordsman logically doesn’t swing once, it is a continuous barrage of attacks. If the magi wants to dodge the attacks, that’s an entire barrage of 6 seconds he needs to dodge, which in my head makes it not viable to cast a formulaic spell in that time (unless they just want to soak up the damage)

How does RAW handle this, as if the magi decides to parry as his ‘reactive’ action, there doesn’t seem to even be a concentration modifier for that :confused:

Have I missed some critical line/rule somewhere that explains this?

Thanks in advance

The combat system doesn't worry about what people would "logically" do during those 6 seconds.
Each combatant gets one (usually) action during each round on their initiative, and that's all there is to it.

Welcome Nox!

First thing would be that most magi are not keen on being at melee range. Shield grogs exist for exactly that reason, and as long as there is at least one grog defending the magus, you may just assume that the magus is away from anyone.

There will be instances, however, when the grog can't effectively protect the magus, or when the magus goes directly against a foe. In that case, the magus needs to make a concentration roll to cast. Check the rules for Concentration and the Concentration Table sidebox, both on p. 82 in the corebook.

On the concentration table you will see that concentrating while dodging has an EF 12, and if you have just taken damage from a swordstrike the EF is 15! That's yet another reason magi stay away from combat, concentrating under physical assault is hard.