Counter Spells

I actually had a quick question. I am relatively new to the game and needed a little clarification. I wanted to make a countering magus who uses his magic to deflect and control elemental magic. For example, lets say he was targeted by a fireball and rather than dodge or rely on Parma Magica he controls the fire and deflects it to his side.
I was only wondering if this would be Rego Vim, since it is cast on a spell, but the description does not say if it can deflect, only supress. Or Rego Ignem for the fire element that you are temporarily controlling. And is this effected by whether the source of said fireball was an already existent flame, or magically created one.

Thank you for your help.

In my opinion there are several ways to do what you're asking about. That's not unusual; the Ars Magica magic system is very flexible so there's often more than one way to do something.

Defending against spells sounds to me like fast-cast defense. I don't have my books with me right now so I can't point you to a page reference. The idea is that you cast a spontaneous spell while another spell is coming at you, and your spontaneous spell stops or deflects the hostile spell. You have to fast-cast in order to get the timing right; you can't just cast a regular formulaic spell and have it finish at just the right time to save you. You can always fast-cast spontaneous spells, and you can fast-cast a specific formulaic spell if you have mastered it and chosen the Fast-Cast special ability.

As to what Arts you would need? That is left largely up to your storyguide and your imagination. If a fireball is coming toward you, you could try to steer it away from you (Rego Ignem), extinguish it (Perdo Ignem), dispel it (Perdo Vim), conjure a jet of water to put it out (Creo Aquam), or even transform it into a pink elephant (Muto Ignem with an Animal requisite, though that would be pretty hard to actually pull off).