Creating a Magical Dyke

The Covenants book has a concept for a group of magi given a narrow strip of land along a beach, who then create magical dykes to create more land.

Obviously, this is just with big CrTe rituals to create the stone. Question is, how wide should the walls be? How high above sea level? I'm not a civil engineer or an oceanographer.

Another question I have, is how to the wizards then manage such land? Obviously, more water will get in, which will then have be periodically drained out, right? And won't the land sink or rise without the water pressure on it? My guess is that it would be a function of how deep the soil used to be under water and its composition. (Clay vs sand vs rock)

The more I think on this, the more it could be a neat basis for a Saga.

So... Most of that is probably hand-wave worthy.

If you are summoning a building you are only worried about how many factors of 10 you need to hit your goal. Weather you need 1 ft above sea level or 10 is probably not going to come into play compared to the depth of the sea. If you are really worried you could look for the heights of real life dykes (probably want to use different wording on the google search...). Either way Magi don't need as large of a safety margin since you could easily respond to a storm buy temporarily raising to higher or warding the covenant against water (also because you have the equivalent of modern drainage tech, see below). I suppose you would also be using the dyke as a fortification so you would want it considerably higher than a period sailing ship sits above the water (pretty high to say the least).

I doubt the sea floor is compressible enough for anything to matter. Tides routinely cover and uncover fairly large stretch of land and I haven't heard of anything like swelling. If anything you would lose height as things dried out.