[Cthulu Gloom] Card Interaction, Need Ruling

During my brother's turn, he played an untimely death card on one of my characters.
I responded with an event card "Even Death May Die" which says : Use to cancel an Untimely Death as it's played.
My brother then played the event card "The Voorish Sign" which says : Use to cancel an event as it's played.

The rules state that responses are used on another players turn. Doesn't that mean that my brother cannot respond to my response?

Any help on this issue is greatly welcomed.

Disregard, I found the answer from a 6 year old thread.