Essential Supplements to the 5th Edition

Hello there :smiley:

I am new to Ars Magica--a dearest friend suggested that it is a game I might enjoy. I purchased the 5th edition and have just begun to put together my first characters. I am curious, however, if the community has any consensus on what would be the best essential supplemental books to purchase for someone new to the game. In the beginning, as I do not have a LARP group assembled just yet, my characters would likely be played-by-post here in the forum.

Thanks so much for any insight, advice, or opinions on the matter.

Humbly,
Maerwen

If I were to pick only just one, it would be True Lineages

The answer to your question depends a great deal on what sort of games you plan on running.

You can't go wrong with HoH: TL though.
Covenants is pretty good too, but once your covenant is designed you probably won't get much use out of it.

Eek, Double-Post!!!

:blush: :unamused: :imp:

Thank you both. It is probably a rather novice, premature question... as I really am not sure why type of saga I will be playing as of yet. :open_mouth: I have a million other little questions, but I am trying to hold my tongue till I read the entire 5th edition.

However, I figure if there was one truly outstanding supplement that is more often referenced than others, I thought I might go ahead and order it. :smiley:

Maerwen

The three Houses of Hermes books are excellent tools for adding depth to the magi of the game. True Lineages also has a lot on how the Order functions, making it the most valuable of the three, all other things being equal. Mystery Cults probably makes the most difference in the game for the players, though.

IMHO, those three should be your first purchases.

Arts and Academe is really cool...if you care about philosophy and 'how things work'. It has a ton of information on three skills many magi have... Artes Liberales, Philosophiae, and Medicine.