[center]Magi Character Creation Questions[/center]
Instead of a full-fledged magus, can we create an Apprentice?
No. All magi have gone through Gauntlet.
What about creating a child who hasn't started their apprenticeship?
No. All magi have gone through Gauntlet.
I aged my Magus/Maga and he/she died. Do I have to start over?
No. Sometimes, a bad die roll can have a profound effect on your character, and advancing in age beyond 35 has its risks. If you advance beyond age 35 and your character dies due to age, regress that character 1 full year, removing all XP, benefits, penalties, etc., and stop right there. You will then get the chance to RP this character and hope for a better result in-game.
Are you firm on the "no familiars" rule to start?
No familiars to start. This is a serious RP opportunity to find and befriend the right beast.
But you're allowing initiation, which is also an RP opportunity.
The requirements for initiation are pretty tough to get through. Not to mention that initiation leans pretty strong towards a lot of mechanics, while finding and befriending a beast is more role-play through exploration. I won't deny that there are some RP opportunities for initiation, and if people wish to RP this instead of doing so during character creation, I'm all for it. But this game is about the PCs, not their familiars.
Can we go through multiple levels of initiation?
That depends entirely on how many years post-Gauntlet you want your magus/maga to be.
It says that initiation costs 1 season. So I only have to spend 1 season to initiate?
The act of going through initiation costs 1 season. You must meet all the requirements to go through initiation, which may mean you end up spending other seasons prior to this getting ready and meeting those requirements.
Do we have to spend all of the XP we earn in the post-gauntlet phase? For example, one of my arts is rather high, and to increase it I need a lot of XP.
No, you do not have to spend all of the XP earned. You can save as much or as little as you'd like.
Do Virtues/Flaws impact the amount of XP we earn during the post-Gauntlet phase?
Yes. Virtues and Flaws impact the amount of XP you earn in whatever way they normally would through the course of play. For example, if you have Elemental Magic and use a season to successfully study one of the elements, you do gain the 1 XP in each of the other 3 elements.
What about the flat 10 XP per season? How do Virtues/Flaws impact this?
They don't. By taking the flat 10 XP, you are effectively saying that you did something not otherwise accounted for, such as adventuring, that earned you XP. Because you are taking a flat amount, you do not get extra XP due to those Virtues/Flaws.
Where would we get raw Vis from if we wanted to study it?
You must spend a season earning Vis wages (which actually grants you 3 pawns), or you must have a Personal Vis Source that grants you Vis. There will be no allowance for using Covenant resources during character creation.
But that's going to cause a character to have to spend multiple years getting the Vis necessary to enchant devices.
If that's what it takes, that's what it takes. Keep in mind that the Covenant was founded in 1217, while some of your characters are going to have been through YEARS post-Gauntlet by that time.
What Tribunal do we have to be from?
You can be from any Tribunal that exists, although I would caution against coming from the Theban Tribunal due to their use of Greek instead of Latin.
Can we be a visiting magus/maga?
No. All magi live at the Covenant; you are not visiting from somewhere else.
I have ideas for multiple magi. Which one would be best for this game?
Whichever one you want to play. Create the character you want to play without worrying about what may or may not fit best in the game.
I have ideas for multiple magi. Can I create more than 1 magi?
Well, technically, you can. But you can only submit one for this game, so it's best that you don't do that.
But what if I create multiple magi instead of creating, say, the companion? Or the grog?
Everyone creates 1 magi, 1 companion, and 1 grog.
Is there any flexibility to the number of seasons we can spend performing specific activities?
While I'd rather we stick to the outline given, if you can give me a very compelling reason for your character to spend more than, say, 1 season in a given year improving your lab, I'll listen. Be warned that is not a guarantee that I'll lift the restriction, but rather me saying that I will listen to your reasoning and then give you a ruling.