Gloom Smoke and Mirrors second chance

Can smoke and mirrors and a second chance cards be played after someone has placed an untimely death card on their last character? This one caused a huge argument with 3 people against me. Rules say once all characters are dead the game is over....everyone else argued saying those 2 cards could undo my untimely death card. Anyone run into this problem?

Smoke & Mirrors, A Second Chance, and A Noble, Stupid Sacrifice all have the ability to interrupt and cancel another card as it is being played. As a result, in the case of A Second Chance, the last character never actually dies; ASC cancels the death before he can die, and thus the game doesn't end.