Gloomier - Icons in play

I have a question about the rules in Gloomier. If a card tells you to pick up a card for every icon in play, I assume that means in everyone’s families, not just yours. But, does that also count the icons on dead characters?

From designer Keith Baker:

In my opinion, if the Icon is VISIBLE, then it counts. So killing a character with the icon visible is a way to lock this in — I think there are a number of stories that score points based on particular icons (though only in your family) and in that case the characters will often be dead!

Great! That is how we were playing the game, so it’s good to hear it was correct!