Grizzled player looking for new challenges

Hello folks,

I'm an older gamer, with most of my ArM experience being back in 3rd Edition. I have played some 4th and 5th edition as well, but not nearly as much as I'd like. Having recently discovered there's actually a fairly lively community here, I figured it was worthwhile to cast a line out and see whether I could get a bite.

My background is in anthropology, and as a result I tend to do a fair bit of research while making a character. I love integrating a character with details of RL history as well as minor mythological elements.

Generally speaking, it's probably fair to say that I prefer lower-powered games, or at least games where there's ample time to grow into one's heritage. I like in-character interacting with the mundane world and with the kind of politics spawned from magical heritage or mystical encounters, e.g. faerie stuff, church misadventures, trading and exploring, researching legends, and so forth.

Last but not least, I do own the 5th edition core rules and several of the expansions for it, but not every single book. My favourites among the books that I do own are probably "Houses of Hermes - Mystery Cults" and "Guardians of the Forest" [to give you a feel for my preferences, such as they are]. I cannot say I have a single favourite tradition, as much depends on the concepts I am working with at the time. As seems typical for me, I tend to have an easier time building a character around flaws than merits. My knowledge of the current game lore is probably very dated (especially regarding defined magi), but if the rest of my listed preferences and quirks sound interesting to you, I am sure we can work around that.

Thank you for reading, and I hope it will be of interest to some of you, and your sodales.

Silberluchs

I would highly recommend Light of Andorra.