A couple questions came up in last night's game, possibly stemming from confusing 4th and 5th edition rules. I can't find the rules in the book, but I'd like confirmation that they're not there before I tell players that those are not, in fact, the rules.
If they are in there and I just can't find them, you are welcome to blame my idiocity or the rule's layout as suits you.
Okay... as I prepared this I just found the answer to my first question, so there's only one now.
Botch Dice & Auras
A character casting a spell in a magic regio with a level 7 aura rolls a 0. How many botch dice does he roll?
At the time half of us remembered the rule one botch die for each level of the aura, and half rememebered a rule, that doesn't happen to magi in a magic realm, and some of thought that it was an issue of whether you were use to the aura or not.
I'm guessing that the "it doesn't apply to magi in a magic realm" stems from page 183: "Auras also affect the number of botch rolls for an attempted supernatual act in a foreign realm. For each point of aura rating, roll an extra botch die."
What's a foreign realm?
It gets worse, though, because on page 190 under Magic in Regiones it says, "Supernatural powers or spells used in a regio level are affected just as in any other aura, determined by the Realm Interaction Table... however, any power used within a foreign regio attracts twice the normal number of botch dice."
Well, maybe it doesn't get worse. But the point is, I don't see a handy definition of "foreign." One interpretation would be simply any one of the other three... if you're a magi Fairy, Divine and Infernal are all foreign, but any Magical aura (or regio) is, umm, not foreign. Or it could mean that your aura is okay, but as soon as you go out into any other aura, you're in a foreign aura, even if it's a magical aura.
Is it an open definition or a closed one?
Any thoughts? Or any sentences that my rereading of the chapter managed to completely miss?