Help needed creating a spell

Hi, noob here so please be nice. I am an experienced RPGer but new to AM. Im playing a Bjornaer Magus and want to create a new spell.

I want to create a swarm of insects that will cover a group, ideally biting ants or suchlike that get under clothing and armour to distract them, with the aim of breaking concentration for magi and impeding melee/missile weapon users. Damage would be a bonus but is less important.

Range-Voice, Target-Group, probably CrAn I guess. Duration would need to be for a minute or so at least.

My query is the spell level. Ants are very tiny and typically weigh less than 10mg. By comparison a wolf would be about 50kg or so. I would need a lot of ants to cover a group, but even giant ants of 1g would still be tiny, it would need 50,000 giant ants to weight as much as a wolf, and half a million normal ants!!!

But doing the maths I (and by that I mean we as my group are discussing this) worked out that this spell would need to be at lvl35 to produce just 100 normal ants, which worked out at just 10 ants per person for a Group target. The reality is that 10 ants might be mildly annoying but not enough to actually Distract someone in game mechanics terms.

Help please!!!

1 Like

Creating (see ArM5 p.113 box Targets and Creo) oodles of creepy crawlies with CrAn (where by p.117 the size of an Individual is +1) for T: Diameter (p.112) leads for T: Group to a few tons of insects. See in particular p.113 box Targets and Sizes:

A base Group contains about as much mass as ten standard Individuals of the Form. This can be split up in any way desired, so it could be two Individuals, each of five times standard size, or ten Individuals of standard size, or ten thousand individuals, each one thousandth of standard size. Every five levels added multiplies the size affected by a factor of ten.

Creating the creepies belligerent might or might not require a Rego requisite: this may depend on their typical disposition.