How can you lose your gift?

Hello everybody!

One of my players chose Dark Secret for his character, and since the saga is set in 790 A.D. I'm thinking of making him somewhat responsible for Mercere's drama. I'm new to fifth edition, so I was wondering if the books describe how can a magus lose his gift. Can you help me with that?

Thank you,
Argentarium.

I'm not counting sacrificing the Gift here:

• Criamon: Path of Strife
  • Potentially a PeVi ritual. (Might require research.) We know InVi can detect the Gift, so the Gift can be affected in some ways by Vim. I don't think a PeVi ritual destroying it would violate anything, and it seems in line with destroying Might. But there is nothing saying there is any understood guideline allowing for it at the moment.
  • False Gifts can be lost, which applies if it had been such. Infernal ones can be lost through turning to the Divine. Faerie ones can be lost if your homunculus is found.

Pretty sure it's supposed to be possible through a lab accident.

Amazon sorceresses can do it with Papaios Zoi.

And of course miracles can do anything.

A really, really bad Twilight experience could theoretically do it...

So the character might have been a supernumerary assistant in Bonisagus' lab in Durenmar at this time, and involuntarily caused the accident. While Bonisagus felt responsible.

ArM5 p.42 Failed Apprentice shows, that such lab accidents happen still.

Making this into a Dark Secret Flaw requires some further work of the troupe. Just why should somebody blame the character, after Bonisagus took the responsibility? Did somebody sometime forge Hermetic records to cover up the accident?

Cheers

Thank you so much, this is all very useful!

One Shot, I’d like to put some mystery behind the mishap, probably some cospiracy. And the player character, Firmus filius of Guernicus, will be compromised.
A first draft:

Bonissagus and Mercere are working on something in their lab.