How to StoryGuide - setting up seasons vs adventures

I'm new to Ars Magica and I'd like thoughts on how to best Game Master the pacing and set-up of a game session for running through SEASONS and also Adventures over the seasons.

How do StoryGuides of Ars ... how do/would you set up a game session that covers the players getting to have the downtime of lab work for a "season" and have "adventures" with Grogs or whatnot?

I'm looking for actual outline ideas of how a session would run hour to hour over a game session and how you handle "season" transition and lab time notation DURING the game session.
I have a strong idea of how to best take the story PACING as a Game Master.
However, I would like YOUR takes and understanding and your experiences with other ARS MAGICA games (or other games) on how to best PACE:

• the passage of time during the game session for "seasons"
  • the intro and actual play of "lab time"
  • how all that actually plays out at the table (examples?)
  • and also what your idea of "adventures" are for ARS play
  • and how all of that interacts as pacing at the table

Questions...
Do you anticipate having time at the game-table to play in/out of game to make maps or do rule creation for the game and for your magi... in making stats/set-up maps, etc... of your LAB and the Covenant.
Or would that be done not at the table... and do more "discovery" and role-play in finding and describing those things.

Or a combo of both?

I'm looking for suggestions and examples on WHAT your expectations for HOW the game session will run overall.

I'd like to take those ideas and mix/mingle them with my ideas for more fun sessions and interesting chapters.

thanks!
-kev-

We've typcally been very freeform with this. A story (hook) is presented and the players decided what character they will be using.