Imaginem + Resistance/Detection

Hey all,

first a quick intro. This is my first board post, I'm new to ArM5 and was a novice at ArM about 10 years ago. However, I've come back to it with gusto! Hope to get to know the community soon. I may attend the Grand Tribunal as my home town is Cheltenham.

To the point. Apologies if this has been dealt with elsewhere. I have spent ages researching however, but came up blank. I cannot see how Imaginem spells which create images of something work. As far as I understand it, there is no resistance check unless the spell casts an illusion on someone [ArM 5e, page 86]. This of course makes sense. I also understand Magi can use Intellego Imaginem to discern an illusion.

My query is with the mundane means of discerning an illusion, whether for a Magus or non-Gifted. At page 115 it talks of fooling beasts and undead, which it contrasts by saying "Demons are very hard to deceive...Certain members of the Church have proven remarkably adept at discerning truth from illusion". This obviously indicates that some form of perception ability can give it away. Indeed in the Guidelines it talks of clues of the illusion.

But I don't seem to be able to find any reference to the game mechanics. One might think the observer should make a Perception+Awareness check to determine if they notice its an illusion. But then what would be the Ease Factor? Surely this would increase with the Maga's success rate?