Needing Clarification: Dispelling Magic

Hello everyone,

Simple question here: does a dispelling effect, like by use of Unraveling the Fabric of X, need to penetrate the targeted spell's "magic resistance" in order to dispel it?

If you use Spontaneous Magic to cast a Touch range level 5 spell, that would mean that low-level spell can dispel anything of level d10+20 levels. Although I am new to this TTRPG system, it seems a bit off kilter to me that my players' fresh-from-gauntlet magi can easily defeat any level 25-30 spell with Spontaneous Magic, even without any extra investiture in Perdo+Vim.

If the above is legally correct, then a similar vein, wouldn't a non-ritual level 50 dispel on touch be capable of dispelling even level d10+65 ritual spells? Why would any magi even bother with Aegis of the Hearth protections if they can be so easily dispelled?

The answer to the first question is a simple no - the spell itself doesn't have any magic resistance (even if cast by someone who does, the spell is the target not the caster).

Your maths is completely right in the second part, and it is relatively easy for hermetic magi to dispel hermetic effects, in theory. But in practice it's not as easy as it sounds - for one thing a touch range dispel is no good in some cases (try touching a magical stormcloud, or a magically created wolf - easier said than done). It's very hard to dispel some momentary effects this way too, as you have to be very fast in some cases, and others have nothing to "touch" (Mentem effects, for example).