New to Ars Magica. New Player Questions

I'm new to Ars Magica. I just got the book. And I've got no previous experience with Ars Magica at all. All I've heard it that it is a pretty decent game with an awesome magic system. And so far from what I've been reading I like... But I'm not understanding this troupe style of playing. I come from games such as D&D, WoD, Legend of the Five Rings, etc. Where you would typically only play one character. Can somebody explain to me how a typical game session goes down? I'm rather curious but I can't seem to wrap my head around the part that would make having multiple characters a plus. And what type of campaigns (sagas?) are typically ran with Ars Magica?

Typically, each player has one magus character, and one companion character, and some grogs (and maybe the grogs are a common pool shared by some, or all, of the players). I find it easiest to think of the magus characters as the main characters and the grogs are retainers/men-at-arms, etc (kind of like movie-extras), and the companion characters are somewhere in between.

The advantage is that you can more naturally tell a greater diversity of stories. You have a larger cast of characters, but not all characters are involved in every session/story. I can (as a player), for example, have a magus character who is a bit useless in, say, town based adventures, and (as a player) I'm not left out of the game if my magus stays at the covenant rather than going to town; because I can play an appropriate grog for that session/story instead.

Practically every episodic TV series is organised like this. There is a small number of main characters, who drive the main stories, and a larger group of supporting characters who turn up more or less frequently depending on the nature of the specific episode.

It is also easier (if you want) to tell stories where player characters sometimes die, if there are "expendable" grog characters available.