New to Ars Magica... some product questions

I’ve just managed to find myself a mint condition copy of the 5th Edition rules in hardcover which I’m chuffed about. I think the hardcover has been out of stock for a while.

I’m totally new to Ars Magica and am looking forward to reading it.

I’ve come from mainly a D&D background so, instinctively, I was going to pick up a Bestiary and, maybe, a GM’s screen but, by the look of it, they didn’t produce these for 5th Edition. Was there a reason for that?

A Bestiary was available for 3rd and 4th Editions. And a GM’s screen was available for 2nd, 3rd and 4th editions.

I’m sure they are non-essential, but I just thought that was interesting.

5 Likes

As far as I know there are no GM screen for the english 5th of the game.

Some non human creatures are found in chapter 13 of the main rulebook.

There are no main bestiary book, instead most of the non human creatures can be found in the four "Realm of Power" books :

• Realm of Power : Faerie
  • Realm of Power : Magic
  • Realm of Power : The Infernal
  • Realm of Power : The Divine

I would get them in this order (the first two are mostly on an equal footing).

There are also creatures specific to certain locations or stories in the revelant book (such as the Drac in Faith & Flame for the Provence Tribunal, as an example)

You should note that the game is designed to run very differently from a regular D&D game, creatures can work as fighting antagonists for your players, but most of them are designed and exist to provide other kinds of challenges and interactions.

Also there is a free PDF for mundane beasts (wolves, horses, bears...)

The official version is here :

An unofficial but much larger one is here :

And welcome to this wonderful game !

12 Likes

You might also be interested in Hooks, Tales of Mythic Europe, and Antagonists.

A bit of advice: to make Ars work, you really need to let go of your dnd habits. Ars does not thrive in monster of the week stories.