Nit-picking Teaching Question

ArM5 p.164 state that the limit on teaching is "The teacher's score in the Art or Ability" Is that no extra points beyond the score. If you are learning Magic Theory from a magus with a score of 7, could you get more than 140 XP? Or could you get 179 (one short of Magic Theory 8)?

140 XP.

I agree. A Teacher can only take to his or her own score, not up to a single point below the next score. The score in an ability is an abstraction, the real measure of knowledge or skill is the amount of exp. In practice the character with 7 is as good as the one with 7(39).

But in essence you shoudl be able to reach the same amount of exp as your Teacher. But for the sake of simplicity I'd only look at the score.

I've always thought you should be able to get to your teacher's number of xp, but most storyguides I've played with would stop at 140xp to try and stop people from minimaxing "I'm studying up to my teacher's xp, then spending a season in practice so I go to the next level".

I think that it should be the teacher's xp. At higher levels this can be significant.
Imagine a teacher who had level 9 + 38 xp in an ability. Thirty eight xp might take 4 or more seasons to gather, it seems implausible that the teacher would have learned nothing that he or could relate to the student that would increase the students understanding during this year of learning.

So you propose a house rule, which AFAICS wouldn't break anything. But you need to agree upon it with your troupe in time.

Note also, that by the paragraph from ArM5, which contains the quote above, a teacher with Magic Theory 7 (plus 0 xp) with a Teaching Source Quality of 15 can bring a student with Magic Theory 6 (plus 34 xp) to Magic Theory 7 (plus 14 xp) in one season by teaching.

Cheers