Non-magical academic research

Hello,
My question may have been treated in the past but i'm somewhat new to Ars Magica and this forum.

I puzzled as how, rulewise, academic research should be treated. By academic research i mean original thinking in academic abilities and improving one without relying on book reading. Some sort of practice ? If so what sort of quality should be applyied

There are no good real rules for advancing knowledge. You could use practice experience to learn without books. It would probably be Q4. But that doesn't really provide any "original thinking". Reading tracti or summae would allow you get everything practice does.

Writing Tracti sort of works since that allows for better books for people to learn from. If there are a nigh limitless supply of Q11 tracti people can learn faster.

I think the real thing would be some modification of the Original Research rules from HoH: TL. Combine that with experimental philosophy and you can make breakthroughs in the academic fields. You could also allow other fields to do similar research. Perform a "lab" project in artes liberales with experimentation and see what developments you make! (Again use HoH: True Lineage original research rules.)

The final option would be to go the route of Enigmatic Wisdom and say body of knowledge is slowly improving. But there are no real mechanics and its just sort of in the background.

Well, ultimately the answer would depend upon what exactly the objective of the character's research is, but the game does offer some suggestions in both "Ancient Magic" and "Art & Acadame".

In the former, the "Adamic" chapter features a section on mundane linguistic research to unlock the secret of Adamic. The method suggested is a variation on the Original Research rules in HoH: TL and revolves upon rolling on the experimentation chart (though obviously some of the results are inapplicable) until a "Discovery" is achieved.