Novice Gamemaster trying to run.

I am a novice GM trying to run Ars Magica for a few friends. I found AM by accident while looking up information on another role playing game and immediately fell in love with the system, however I am the only one in my group who knows anything about it. Because of this I am the one who has ended up agreeing to run a campaign/saga of Ars Magica for a small 3-4 person group of players. I have some experience in GMing, specifically with Symbaroum and a couple of D&D sessions, and am aware of the vast differences between these systems and AM. I know it is a complex game but I really do want to learn these complexities. I am here posting this asking for tips and tricks for a GM new to this system. Thank you for any help you provide.

That's a very broad question, making it hard to answer :slight_smile:

Since magi can be quite complicated, you might want to have people write up a grog first, then run a short introductory story with those, to get the basics of the system introduced - then make magi characters afterwards.

We've also had great fun playing apprentices, which introduces the magic system slowly as well, since young apprentices can do almost nothing anyway :slight_smile:

Running an Ars Magica game is an adventure in itself. If your players are not sure about what kind of magi they would like to play, it might help to use the templates from the core rules for a couple one-off sessions to get used to the system before spending time figuring out what you want. A good story to start with could include a scene with mundane interaction, a scene with combat, and a scene with some sort of problem-solving. This would give everyone a little taste of the various mechanics around ability checks, combat, and spell-casting.