Question on Affinity With Art

Another rules question (I'm not a rules lawyer honest! I just don't understand a lot of them).

Affinity with Art states that during character creation any XP you put into that Art are increased by 1/2.

So, I'll be taking Skilled Parens and Affinity with Creo. That gives me a base of 300 XP right?

Assuming I take this:-

Intellego - 10
Muto - 4

Corpus - 7
Imaginem - 2
Mentem - 10
Vim - 10

Am I right in saying that I would be left with 94 points but with Affinity with Art (Creo) I could put 141 into Creo??? Have I understood this correctly?

I would say so, yes.

Xavi

Well technically you could (depending on Sg of course) but do note that the SUGGESTED rule for starting characters re: Art score limits is no more than 10 in any Art straight out of Apprenticeship.

Having said that, you could probably still get some benefit from the Affinity and not offend the sensibilities of the SG or other players by simply getting yourself to a 10 (or 11 since one character already has that much in his focus Art) on the cheap.

An 11 in Creo would normally cost 66xp, but with affinity you could get it for 44 xp and still leave yourself 50 points to spend on abilities or other Arts.

Oh, yeah. Note that you will have no spells at all if you do that; you will have spent all your points in Arts. The spells you have also come from that XP pool, so you will have a blank grimmore when the saga starts. No matter how strong your arts are, that is generally a Bad Idea (TM).

Cheers,

Xavi

Err...are you sure about that? I don't see where it says that in the rules. You get 240 pts to spend on Arts and then you get to choose 120 levels of spells, it doesn't say anything about using XP to buy those spells.

I'm reading through the Darius example and it seems to confirm this.