Question on the limits of the soul

Hello everyone,
This is my first time on the forum, and I am playing in my first AM campaign using 4th Ed rules. I am playing a verditius magus.

I was planning on enchanting a mirror with intelligence which could then be taught skills. I was going to use a lvl 50 Creo Mentem effect, but after reading some of the topics on here I don't think it will work.

So I have 4 options :

1. My original idea, then lots of intellego vis for the item to learn skills.
  2. Bind a ghost or some other mythic beast into the mirror
  3. Bind the life of a small animal, then boost that with a mentem spell
  4. Somehow bind some of myself into the item.

Does anyone here have any ideas about this?

The wizard's grimore revised edition has some rules for items that can learn skills for fourth edition. These might be a good choice for you if you just want the mirror to learn certain skills rather than be a self aware buddy.

I like the +6 magnetude + mentem requisite make somethng think adjustment to the shadow of life renewed spell. (I'm not sure if it was the same iadjustment in fourth). I think that this would be a reasonable way to deal with other spells/effects that you want to think.

Otherwise, all of your ideas would work from a theretical perspective and all of them fit just a bit outside of the fourth ed published material so you'll need a bit of SG adjudication no matter what.

I seem to remember that the SG screen for 4th included exactly that - a guide to making objects with skills. It included making the object a possible receiver of the Abilities but you would then have to have someone teach the ability to the prepared item. Talk about impetus¨for finding the worlds best swordsman, smith, illuminator etc...

Yes, in the 4th ed grimoire you can put intellego vis into an item to allow it to "learn" skills. 1 Pawn of Int vis gives you 5 points for skills. So 2 pawns would allow an item to learn up to +4 in a skill.