Questions about Atlas Games

I am so amazed by the books you have written for 5th Edition that I have read, you guys are really a fresh breath of Air in this business (even though you have been going on for so long).

1. How many employees do you have that works with Ars Magica
  2. How long have all the employees worked there
  3. What kind of education do your researchers have. Myself I am a Theology PhD and I am impressed by the writers.

The writers for Ars Magica are mostly freelancers. I'm a freelancer, so I can't answer the questions about Atlas's internal structure.

As to education, I have honours in history, a graduate diploma in information studies (which is my professional librarianship degree) and a masters degree in business. I work as a public librarian (and now I've mentioned that I need to note I don't represent my employer on this forum.) I also have technical certificates in various things, am a Coursera addict, and am about to enrol in an adult teaching certificate. I'd note I didn't have any of these things while writing Sanctuary of Ice, so people shouldn't let a lack of history qualifications put them off. Being willing to put in the hours is more important that having a qualification, IMO, particularly since there's a sort of ethos of helping each other out among the authors.

Thanks for the compliments.

It depends on what you mean by "work with." All of us have some work related to it, whether checking proofs from the printer or packing boxes of ArM books in distributor orders. The line editor for Ars Magica, David Chart, is technically not an employee but a freelance independent contractor; the writers and artists are all freelance too.