Questions from a Newbie (part I)

Hi
I am new to Ars Magica - love the setting and the feel of the game - I am just having some difficulties with the mechanics (which, for being a Rolemaster player for 20+ years one would not think possible :wink: )

1. Under Spells it has Design specifications (such as Base 15, +1 touch, +2 Sun, +1 Size - for the Wizards Mount [a Level 35 spell])
    I understand that the Level 35 comes from 15 +5 +10+5 (corresponding to the Design specifications) but I am only backing into that. How does one know that Sun = +2 and hence 10pts of magnitude and that Moon =3 and hence 15pts of magnitude?

Or am not getting this?

Thanks

Go to the start of the chapter. Under spell parameters (or something like that) you get the base spell parameters. They are usually:

Range: Personal
Target: Individual
Duration: Momentary

After that and under each category (range, target, duration) you get an increment of +1 in each category.

So it is (for example):

Momentary +0
Concentration/Diameter +1
Sun +2
Moon +3
Year +4

Personal +0
Touch +1
Voice +2
Sight +3
Arcane Connection +4

Individual +0
Part +1
Group +2
(something I cannot remember: Structure?) +3
Boundary +4

Clear as mud? :slight_smile:

Xavi

Assuming you have the Core ARM5 Rulebook, I would draw your attention to pages 111-115 for the spell design chapter. The Range, Duration and Target steps are all fully explained therein.

Welcome to Ars! :slight_smile:

[Edited to add]: Awww you beat me to the punch again Xavi, you sly devil! :wink:

I agree that it's poorly explained. It says stuff like "concentration is the same level as diameter", but i can't recall seeing anywhere in the book that says that diameter is a 1 step increase. I did it the same way you did. Read the spells, and figured it out from there.
But xavi kindly explained it above.

I'm not entirely sure what you're trying to ask, but I'll take a whack at it anyway.