Rome vs. Thebes for a Covenant?

I'm somewhat new to Ars Magica and the politics of Tribunals, Covenants and Magi, etc...
Question...

If the Tribunal of Rome wanted to "take" a single (new) covenant of the Thebian Tribunal (one my PCs have established on Crete) how would that go down? The island of Crete is on the outskirts of the Thebian Tribunal, technically as close to the Roman as the Thebian... so....

• if they wanted to take it by force?
  • if they wanted to take it by "mercantile" force (ie. Venice "bought" Crete in 1212, and might offer to "buy" the covenant?)

What would happen between the Tribunals? How would the leaders of the Tribunals handle this? What could/would the new magi of my PCs get involved?

any ideas, more questions, and pointing me to book resource or otherwise is appreciated
thanks!

Before we go further, why would the Roman tribunal want this covenant in their tribunal vs the Theban?

I believe the covenant has a right to decide what Tribunal it belongs to, assuming both would have it. And that is regardless of mundane politics.

That being said, the question above might help with tailoring a story around it. Why?

Salvete,

Taking a convent by force is not an option imo. You aren't going to destroy a convent first and then include it in your tribunal ... beside I belive this would be high crime. I think a convent in such a case is more or less free to choose side. At least as long the other tribunal does not claim the teretory. If it does the case would go to the next Grand Tribunal.

Widewitt