Rotating storyguide

I'm new to Ars Magica, and I am curious about the rotating storyguide model and have a few questions.

1. Do most groups use a single storyguide, or is it common to have a rotating one?

2. If you use a rotating storyguide, what happens with the storyguide's characters during his or her adventure?

3. If you use a rotating storyguide, does everyone take turns as storyguide, or are there some players who never are storyguide?

Thanks.

1. My group does have rotating SGs, however it is not manditory.

2. Usualy they fall into the background and are played more as NPCs or left in the lab. Our SGs often play Grogs so they can be a part of the action.

3. Only people who want to run storys do, we have an alph (myself) and when someone has a story idea they run the skeliton of it by me or ask for a part of the world to call their own. Regios are great for this so a SG can have a self contained world to play with. We usualy start new SGs with regios.

Same here. I'm Alpha and do most - and I don't have any characters myself. And when we play it is almost given in advance what character people will play - and very often only a part of those will play their magus, the others playing companion or grog. We don't do the downtime in-session, so there's little need for pausing over all characters every time + most storys span several session but not several seasons.

My group would start knife fights to avoid multiple SG's.... we are the antithesis of troupe style.

We use a 3 story guide system for a group of 12 players.

unfortunately, the group is geographically separated (chicago, phoenix, san jose). So the covenant has various a gold, blue and red team each with a separate story guide. Within each team there is an alpha and beta story guide. Fortunately, the 3 alpha guides and all the players really have some good idea on the types of stories they want to tell.