Rules dilemma - a matter of style

Hi all,

I have a question that my esteemed sodales might care to assist me with.
Firstly, I'm not asking about what the rules actually say. I have a reasonable idea about this aspect, but I would like to know your opinions about what variants would be better and why.
(Just to give you more background info, I'm new to running Ars Magica, but I've run a lot of game sytems for decades so I'm happy with house rules to improve the 'feel' of a game; I've also inherited a version of AM from another SG with a mix of rules from 5th, 4th, 3rd Ed and possibly earlier too.)

The question is:
Should affecting (dispelling/altering/defending against/etc) a spell be based on the level of the actual spell, or the level of the effect (see below for example) or the casting total achieved?

Exemplia gratia:
Gandalf the unfeasibly powerful casts a minor spell to prevent a mundane from speaking. Possibly level 5 Perdo Corpus, low range and duration. The exact spell and its parameters aren't important.

William the apprentice casts a group spell to do the same thing, but lasting longer, from sight range. His spell is higher level, say 25th level.

Now Martha the Moderate wants to remove this effect from the mundane(s).
She casts perdo vim to dispel it.
Case A: she needs a level 10 general dispel or a specific level 5 dispel to remove Gandalf's and a level 50 general or level 25 specific one to remove Williams if it is based on the level of the offensive spell (For the sake of brevity, I've ignored the stress die roll and the +10 bonus). This is the official rules version.
Case B: she needs the same level 10 general dispel or a specific level 5 dispel to remove either spell because the actual effect level is the same.
Case C: she finds herself unable to match Gandalf's casting total, even with the specific version, but William's casting total was only 13 so that one is quite easy.

Which case is best and why?