Some Muto Corpus Questions

Hey! I'm new to Ars Magica and this forum. It seems like a small community, but I've had fun reading a lot of the threads here. :blush:

My first character, which I've been playing for a couple dozen sessions now, is Celestis of Merinita. She specializes in Muto and Rego Corpus, and has a Major Magical Focus in Human Body Modification, which she uses to make people beautiful, and also give herself weird powers.

So! I'm curious how a few things work for Muto Corpus, and would appreciate if anyone more knowledgeable could give me some guidance on the matter.

• Are the guidelines for granting soak with Muto Corpus intended to scale beyond the table in the core book? At level 5, one soak can be granted, increasing by one soak per 5 levels until 25, and then it stops. I can't tell if this was to save room/wordcount, or if five soak is the current limit of hermetic understanding.
  • Is it possible to grant something like superhuman strength with Muto Corpus? For example, if one made a spell to grant temporary gigantic size, could the spell also grant appropriate strength for the size? Or is that solely the purview of Creo Corpus, which can only grant up to peak human strength? I found a MuCo spell in... I think it was Magi of Hermes - that lets the target move as fast as a horse. So, there's a precedent for superhuman speed. :thinking:
  • What are some neat Muto Corpus effects Celestis could invent in the future? The GM approved a "Grant Major Ability" guideline at Base Level 20, but I've only used it so far to make a superhuman beauty spell, and a spell that grants the target the ability to retract their limbs seamlessly into their body (and extend them again later).
3 Likes

Hi!