ArM5, p. 102 gives the rules for using Laboratory Texts. However, the first three sentences are contradictory.
Sentence 1 says that a magus's Lab Total must exceed the level of the Laboratory Text's effect.
Sentence 2 says that if a magus's Lab Total is too low, it must be raised to equal the level of the Laboratory Text's effect in order to use the text.
Sentence 3 says that multiple effects can be learned, so long as they add up to less than the magus's Lab Total.
So, does the magus's Lab Total need to exceed the combined level of the effects, or does he only need to equal that level? Has this been errata'd somewhere?
This second part is a minor point of contention between myself and another member of our troupe. The same section states that the learned effect is an almost exact reproduction of the original, and that "no features of a spell may be changed". Later, it's stated that incorporating the learner's sigil is the "main difference" between the two effects.
If a magus learns a spell from a Laboratory Text with the help of his failed apprentice companion, can he tailor that spell so that it does not give his companion Warping Points? Is this spelled out more explicitly one way or the other elsewhere?