Spell Help: Fresh out of the Cloning Vat

I'm new to the system, and so the first time I rolled up a character, I mistakenly thought "Well...we have longevity potions and I can be unaging. So there's no real drawback to starting as older. I'll start at 34, that gives me a good year before I start making age checks."

A-doy. :neutral_face:

So now, a few sessions in, I'm looking for a way to cheat the reaper. There are a few methods in the mysteries books, but many of them are beyond my means or have side effects I don't care for. I had one idea that seems to work, but my GM wants me to run it by the forum.

First, get a test subject, someone with The Gift. Hit them with a Pedro Mentem spell, "Tabula Rasa" we'll call it, to completely wipe their mind. Then blow a good chunk of Mentem Vis on a Creo Mentem ritual, which we'll call "Copy Paste," that copies all of your memories and knowledge into t his empty vessel. It would be very high level, and you'd likely have to blow a lot of Vis on it, but Creo effects can be permenant.

You then cast a shapeshifting spell on him to make him look like you, and bam, you have someone with all of your abilities, memory, etc, ready to take your place when you shuffle off from old age.

This seems good, but my GM has reservations -- specifically the idea that Creo Mentem can impart skills of any kind, even Knowledge skills. He had the idea that the spell could impart no skills, but that the person would get Rating 8 practice XP every season until they matched the original skill levels.

Thoughts, balances, etc?

pg 152 Exchange of the two minds 55 Rego Mentum.

There is a neat example of this in the Book Anubis Gates by Tim Powers. It is more of a ritual and has interesting side effects. Given time( hehe), you could make a breakthrough on this spell.

It would make for an interesting future for the order :slight_smile:

At 34, with longevity potions, you can expect to live 100 more years.