Spell Mechanics Questions

Hello! I'm new to Ars Magica and I'm gearing up to run a campaign for some folks who have never played AM either.

About Spell Mastery:

The description on pg. 86 of the Core Rules seems to suggest that the only way to learn/improve a Spell Mastery Ability is to study it from a book written specifically on that topic (not the spell itself but Mastery of it). This seems a bit odd because someone had to master it first before writing it down.

If there are other ways to learn this Ability per spell, what would they be (e.g. Adventure xp, Practice, etc.)?

Are books written specifically for increasing Spell Mastery, or would a book that was simply written on the spell be enough?

Please indicate if your answer is and official ruling or if it's an interpretation/house rule. Thanks in advance!

About Ceremonial Casting:

The example on pg.83 is a bit confusing. "However, if she gets lucky and rolls a 64 on the stress die, the spell will have a penetration of 12 (32, which is half of 64, minus the maximum spell level of 20) plus half her Technique + Form + Artes Liberales + Philosophiae + Stamina total."

My question is, why was the 64 halved? And, why is she only adding half her Technique?

p164, Practice, last bullet.
Also p165, Writing Books, 2nd para.

BTW, p86 does not forbid other means.

EDIT:
Spont is always half, p81.

Nice! Thank you.

I edited my original post with a 2nd question I had; I was trying to slip in in before a reply came :slight_smile:

Welcome to the game!

Worse, anyone who writes a book can only write a max Level of half their own level, so to write a Mastery 2 text would require someone know it at Mastery 4! :unamused: (Tractatus are possibly more common - see next section.)